What Taraba Governor Did To Prisoners Is Interesting (See Here)



Governor of Taraba State, Darius Ishaku, has Friday granted state pardon to 21 prisoners that were serving different jail terms in the state, a statement said.

Mr. Darius’ Chief Press Secretary, Hassan Mijinyawa, said the pardon was a gesture carried out in line with the powers conferred on the governor by section 212 sub-sections 1 of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended.

He said the governor pardoned the 21 convicts following the recommendations of the State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy for the remission of jail terms imposed on the prisoners by the courts in Gembu, Jalingo, Serti and Wukari.

Taraba State Comptroller of Prisons has been directed to, as matter urgency, effect the discharge of the 21 affected persons.

The forgiven prisoners are as Yankari Isaac, Philibus Maisamari, Lawan Saidu, Aisha Abdullahi, Alani Usman and Isah Mohammed.

According to the press statement, other released by the governor’s prerogative of mercy are Mohammed Babamuri, Adamu Bappa, Emmanuel Jibril, Bala Usman, Zabee Kangauyo, Yusuf Jibril, Nacha Abdullahi, Chika Akabuaga, Sunday Okechukwu, Mbagaji Orker and Dominic Nzinang Bukuni.

Also on the list are Demega Krea Wuese, Musa Ibrahim and Isaac Kana.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here