5 Distinguished Yorubas That Could Be President In 2019 (Photos)



Few days ago, We posted this “7 Igbos Who Could Become President Of Nigeria Come 2019” | Here is the Yoruba version.

President Muhammadu Buhari resumed office on May 29, 2015 after the elections were conducted earlier that year. And while he’s still presumed new in office, one cannot ascertain who his successor would be or what his administration would be like.

In Nigeria, there are some powerful monarchs who could be considered as president in the making. There are some powerful politicians amongst the Yorubas that are nationalistic and could be elected in 2019.

Although politics in Nigeria is unpredictable; there are so many variables in the political system that could alter or change the expected results at the long run.

Find below some of the potential game changers that could become elected as the president in 2019:

1. Bola Tinubu


Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu is known as “Jagaban” to most people in Nigeria. Known as the APC godfather, he wields so much power the opposing parties tremble when he makes certain moves.

Being an influential member of the All People’s democratic (APC) party, he has served in different capacity of government, as Governor of Lagos state even when all other states in Southwest fall under PDP. He knows the intrinsic moves in politics.

2. Babatunde Raji Fashola

Babatunde Fashola is presently Nigeria’s Federal Minister of Power, Works and Housing. He succeeded Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu in April 2007 as the Lagos state governor. Being an astute APC member, Fashola would is also a president in the making, considering his efforts in the transformation of Lagos state.

He was reelected in 2011 due to his actions. Fashola was conferred with the rank of Senior Advocate Of Nigeria in 1988 and is the first ever Chief of Staff to be honoured that way.

3. Kayode Fayemi


Kayode Fayemi is the former Governor of Ekiti state and Nigeria’s present Minister of Solid Minerals. He is also a potential presidential candidate in 2019. Being a former Director of the Centre for Democracy & Development, he has a broad knowledge of politics as with regards to democratic development.

He worked as a journalist, researcher and strategic development adviser in Nigeria and in the United Kingdom. He has spread his tentacles beyond politics and has acquired a wide spectrum of knowledge in various fields.

4. Ibikunle Amosun


Ibikunle Amosun is the Governor of Ogun state. He was reelected and sworn into office May 29, 2015 under the banner of the All Progressive Congress political party. His zeal and passion for politics is prominent especially with his relentless efforts in the pursuit of his political desires.

5. Olusegun Mimiko


He is the current governor of Ondo state. Having contested against incumbent Olusegun Agagu, Mimiko lost according to the result released by INEC. However, he contested this decision at the tribunal and Agagu lost office to him in 2009. Governor Mimiko made history in the Nigerian politics when he became the first and only member of the Labour Party to win a gubernatorial office in Nigeria.

SEE ALSO:- 7 Igbos Who Could Become President Of Nigeria Come 2019

Source:- Naij


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here