Mikel, Iheanacho, Musa & Iwobi In Battle For 2016 CAF Footballer Of The Year Award


Sources at the Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) have exclusively revealed to Vanguard newspaper that four Nigerians will be among the nominees for the 2016 African Footballer of the year award.

Ahmed Musa who made a record transfer to Premier League champions Leicester City is set to be in the list, alongside Chelsea’s Mikel Obi who captained Nigeria to a bronze medal finish at the Rio 2016 Olympics.

Alex Iwobi’s rise with Arsenal will sure earn him a mention while Kelechi Iheanacho who has been a revelation for Manchester City and Nigeria is also guaranteed to be on the list.

Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Borrusia Dortmund and Gabon is currently the reigning African Player of the year, but he will have to fend off challenge from the Nigerians to retain his award.

The list of nominees for the award will be released in two weeks time by the organizers of the award, which will be handed out next year to the eventual winner.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here